Windows Clipboard History

I hope you know that Office gives you 24 clipboards (not just one). Now, Windows 10 also gives multiple clipboards (starting Oct 2018 update). It is called Windows Clipboard History.

Enable Windows Clipboard History

Simple method, just press Windows key + V. It will ask you to enable Windows Clipboard History. Click the Turn On button. That’s it.

image

The official way is to Go to Settings – search for Clipboard and enable it.

Windows Clipboard History enable option

How to copy into the clipboard?

Nothing new here. Use the copy option in any software or Ctrl C – as usual. What is different is that earlier we used to get only ONE clipboard. So if you copied something else, the earlier clipboard content is overwritten.

If you press Ctrl V, the current clipboard will be pasted – again as usual.

But now, there is another option.

Windows V – Windows Clipboard History shortcut

If you press Windows key with V, you will see a list of various items you have copied earlier. You can now choose which one you want to paste. The windows appears at the current cursor location in a document.

The list is visual. You can actually see the contents of the clipboard.

Click on the one you want to paste.

Pin frequent items to the Windows Clipboard History so that you don’t lose them.

When is the Windows Clipboard History cleared

It is cleared when you restart the PC. The Pinned items will be available even after a restart.

What is stored in the history

Maximum clipboard size is 4 MB. It is a very powerful clipboard. It understands all kinds of objects – not just text and images. For example, it can copy paste PowerPoint slides, Adobe Illustrator objects and so on.

Understand the risk

Past data is stored in the history. So anyone who uses the Windows V shortcut on your PC (in your login) will see all the past clipboard entries.

BE CAREFUL ABOUT PASSWORDS AND OTHER SENSITIVE DATA

Windows Clipboard History shortcut image

Minimize button in Teams Screen Sharing

Small but useful feature added to Teams. During Teams meetings when the desktop is shared, the communication option windows used to stay on the screen. This windows often overlapped important areas of the screen. The only way to avoid that interference was to manually move it to the bottom right corner (or some such inconspicuous area).

Now the problem is solved. There is a nice Minimize button. The window disappears. Job done.

image

How to get it back? Look at the Taskbar and click on the Teams app icon. There is another window visible. Click on it to get the window back.

image

This applies to the Desktop Teams App only.

Irritant: wrong bullet formatting in Word

Word bullets can trouble you a lot. If there is wrong bullet formatting – that too for just ONE bullet, it can be very frustrating to handle. This happens with numbering as well as shown here.

Sample image for wrong bullet formatting

But it is not a bug. There is a method behind the madness. And of course, there is a simple solution to it.

The problem with wrong bullet formatting

The formatting for the bullet itself is stored in the last character of the paragraph – the paragraph mark itself. It is usually invisible but it is still selectable.  So all that you have to do is to select it and then press CTRL Spacebar – which resets the formatting. Problem solved.

Bad bullet

To select the invisible character, go to the last character (the period in this case), press right arrow and then press Shift Right Arrow. Now the invisible paragraph mark is selected.

When this is done press Ctrl Spacebar which resets the formatting to default. Here the formatting of the paragraph mark was also red that is why number 3 was shown in red colour. When formatting is reset, the problem is solved.

 Homer banging head

Difference between save to This PC and Browse

While saving files we see these two options: This PC and Browse. What is the difference?

If it is a local file, Save or Save As – there is no difference. It opens the standard file save dialog showing local PC files.

If this is a OneDrive, SharePoint or Teams file, there is a difference. For saving these files for the first time, we choose OneDrive or Sites (Teams). Therefore, the Browse and This PC does not come into picture.

However, when you are saving a copy of such files, there is a difference. Note that for online files, there is NO Save As option, it is a Save a Copy option.

If you choose This PC, it will still show the standard File Save dialog showing the default folder (typically Documents).

image

But if you choose Browse, it browses the current file save location – which is OneDrive or Teams or SharePoint.

image