Reply All when you are on BCC is called stupidity! Find out how to prevent it.

I am sure this has happened to you before. You were on BCC, you did not realize it and did a REPLY ALL. That exposes you and the sender Just kiddingSick smile.

Well, if you use Outlook 2010 and Exchange server 2010 (or above), it is a simple matter of LOOKING at what Outlook is telling you. Outlook detects this problem AUTOMATICALLY and shows you a warning in RED color – just above the TO box. Notice it and act on it. Cancel the mail and just use REPLY – so that only the sender gets the mail.

BCC feature in Office 2010

If you don’t know which version of Exchange Server you are using, talk to your IT team.

Irritating = Extremely Useful – The “Enable Editing” button

Since Office 2013, you will often see a yellow bar at the top asking you to Enable Editing. Unless you press this button, you cannot type anything or format any content. This may sound irritating, but it is a very useful feature. It safeguards your interests.

enable editing

The reason is simple. Even today, many viruses travel through Office documents – as macros. These files arrive either through email, downloaded from Internet or copied from USB drives. In these cases, there is a great danger of the file infecting your PC. To prevent this from happening, these files are now opened in a special way. Here you can read the file but not edit it.

If you trust the source, you will have to click the Enable Editing button. Unless you want to edit it, don’t Enable Editing. Just read and take the required action.

How Outlook helps you prevent inadvertent leakage of sensitive information

You may not have even realized this. But there is a very high chance that you have leaked out confidential information before – not once, but many times. How does this happen? and How does Outlook help you protect yourself and prevent inadvertent leakage… read on to find out.

Continue reading How Outlook helps you prevent inadvertent leakage of sensitive information

Outlook 2013: Prevents “oops” mails with Attachment Reminder

I am sure you have noticed.  But just in case.  Outlook 2013 is smarter.  It analyzes what you are writing in the mail (NO. It does not send that information to Microsoft nor use it for advertising!). It uses that information to warn you if you have forgotten to attach a file. Usually, we realize the mistake AFTER sending the mail and then we send an “oops” mail with the attached file. It makes you look sloppy and unprofessional. Here is the solution:

Continue reading Outlook 2013: Prevents “oops” mails with Attachment Reminder